England Rugby Union Coach


Could Eddie Jones become the greatest-ever England Coach? He starts his Autumn International campaign on Sunday the 6th of November. Argentina are the visitors to Twickenham. Jones has bagged a Grand Slam in 2019. Six Nations Championship Winners in 2016, 2017, and 2020. In addition, the team under his leadership was runners-up in the Rugby World Cup in 2019. He has a 75% win ratio. With 58 wins, 18 losses and 1 draw from his 77 games in charge.

Sir Clive Woodward

Understandably, Sir Clive Woodward is seen as the most successful England Rugby Union Coach. His England team was Six Nations champions in 2000 and 2001. And completed the Grand Slam in 2003 with an emphatic 42–6 victory over Ireland in Dublin. His greatest achievement was the Rugby World Cup in 2003. In addition, from 2000 to 2003. Woodward’s England compiled a record of 41 wins from 46 matches.

Jack Rowell

Before Woodward Jack Rowell was the coach of the England rugby team from 1995 to 1997. Under Rowell England won twenty-one of their twenty-nine matches. Including the 1995 World Cup quarter-final against Australia. In percentage terms of games won Rowell is England’s most successful rugby union coach.

Geoff Cooke

However, the man who started England Rugby’s revival was Yorkshireman Geoff Cooke. During his playing career, he played mainly as a Centre or Fly Half from 1962 to 1972. And captained his Club Bradford & Bingley RFC along with his County, Cumbria.
He cut his teeth coaching at Bradford & Bingley RFC following the end of his playing career. In addition, he successfully coached Yorkshire from 1975 through to 1979. Then Chairman of Selectors from 1980-85. As well as a North of England selector from 1979-1987.

Laying England Rugby’s Foundations

Cooke was then appointed Manager of the England Rugby Union Team in October 1987. They had enjoyed little success in the previous ten years, so his task with a difficult one. However, he led the England Rugby team in 49 international matches between 1987 and 1994. England won successive (1991 and 1992) Grand Slams in the 5 Nations Championship, were runners-up in the 1991 World Cup and winner of the 1993 World Cup Sevens.
The platform Geoff Cooke and the England team led on the field by Captain Will Carling. This team set the foundation for England’s future success.
We offer a great range of Vintage England Rugby style here.