The Ellis Rugby book preview. Rugby League Hall of Fame

Rugby League Hall of Fame Author Robert Gate

Robert Gate was instrumental in the founding of the original Hall of Fame. He is widely regarded as the foremost authority on the history of the sport.

Here’s the Ellis Rugby Rugby League Hall of Fame Book Preview –

The Rugby League Hall of Fame was established in 1988 to commemorate the playing legends that have lit up the sport over the decades. It was the brainchild of David Howes, the former Public Relations Officer of the Rugby Football League. Its establishment was first mooted in 1987 and a year later, on the 24th October 1988, the first nine entrants were inducted. The purpose of the exercise was, of course, to honour, celebrate and commemorate the game’s greatest players. Election to the Hall of Fame was to be restricted to the most elite. There was to be no higher accolade to which the rugby league player could aspire.

This lavishly illustrated book celebrates all these heroes, featuring detailed personal and playing biographies and statistical information on their remarkable achievements. The all-star lineup includes Billy Batten, Brian Bevan, Billy Boston, Jonty Parkin, Albert Rosenfeld, Jim Sullivan, Roger Millward, Tom van Vollenhoven, Alex Murphy, Vince Karalius, Gus Risman, Neil Fox, and Harold Wagstaff.

Further inductees have been added since it’s publication in 2003. These include Andy Gregory, Derek Turner, Johnny Whiteley MBE, Albert Goldthorpe, Shaun Edwards, Garry Schofield OBE, Martin Offiah, Lewis Jones, Martin Hodgson, Ellery Hanley, Douglas Clark, Eric Ashton, Willie Horne, Malcolm Reilly OBE and Mick Sullivan

You can purchase on Amazon HERE. Also, we offer an extensive collection inspired by these Rugby League heroes – Mal Reilly – Castleford, Manly, Great Britain, Roger Millward – Hull KR, Cronulla, Great Britain, Billy Boston – Wigan and Great Britain, Neil Fox – Wakefield Trinity and Great Britain, Alex Murphy – Warrington, St Helens and Great Britain, Johnny Whiteley – Hull FC and Great Britain, Lewis Jones – Leeds RLFC and Great Britain, Brian Bevan – Warrington.