Rugby League World Cup Final


Australia sealed victory over Samoa in the final of the Rugby League World Cup at Old Trafford Manchester. The scoreline finished Australia 30 points to Samoa’s 10 points. This was the Kangaroo’s 11th victory in the last 12 Men’s World Cups. The only loss came against New Zealand back in 2008.

As well as the Men’s success. The Australian Rugby League women’s team, the Jillaroos also won their third consecutive Rugby League World Cup. They defeated the Kiwis 54 points to 5 to crown a great tournament for the Green and Gold.

Rugby League World Cup Final Success

The statistics of the Kangaroos are extremely impressive. They conceded only eight tries throughout the tournament. They scored 286 points and conceded 42 points. The squad includes some superstars of the game in Australia captained by the Roosters James Tedesco. Also, outstanding Penrith half-back Nathan Cleary and five-eight (stand-off) Cameron Munster. In addition, the brilliant indigenous player’s Josh Add-Carr and Latrell Mitchell.

Rugby League World Cup Final Champions of 1968

The Australian Rugby League team of this World Cup will be compared to the great Kangaroos of the past. One of the finest was the side of 1968. The 1968 Rugby League World Cup tournament was held in Australia and New Zealand during May and June in 1968.

Australia defeated Great Britain 25 points to 10 at the Sydney Cricket Ground. Then defeated New Zealand 31 points to 12 in Brisbane. Also, thrashing France 37 points to 4 also at Lang Park in Brisbane. To conclude the tournament Australia played second-placed team France. In the final a crowd of 54,290 watched this great Kangaroos team defeat the French 20 points to 2. Lionel Williamson scored two tries. In addition, Ron Coote and Johnny Greaves crossed for tries. Finally, Eric Simms kicked four goals.

Future Hall of Fame Immortals?

The stars of the Australian team in the tournament were skipper Johnny Raper, second-rower Ron Coote, who scored spectacular tries in each and every game, and the dead-shot kicker Eric Simms, who harvested a record 25 goals (50 points). In addition, they included legendary players Centre Graeme Langlands. Also, five-eight (stand-off) Bob Fulton and prop, the great Arthur Beetson.
The 1968 team includes five players to feature in the Immortals. Established in 1981, the Immortals of rugby league in Australia are players named as the nation’s greatest ever. From 1981 to 2017 The Immortals were named by the Australian sports magazine Rugby League Week. In 2018, the National Rugby League took over The Immortals concept.

Celebrating the Legends of Australian Rugby League

We celebrate the great Australian Rugby League teams from the past through our retro collections. These include our Australian Rugby League Shirt Polo Retro Kangaroo Style.  In addition, our Australia Rugby League T-Shirt Vintage Style. Also, we offer a full vintage Rugby League collection.