Scotlands Grand Slam 1990. The Ellis Rugby Book preview.

Author – Ian McGeechan

Sir Ian McGeechan, OBE. McGeechan played for Headingley. And made his debut for Scotland in 1972. He won thirty-two caps. Playing at fly-half and centre. Further, he captained Scotland on nine occasions. He toured with the British & Irish Lions in both 1974 and 1977.
Moreover, in 1986, McGeechan became the assistant Scotland coach to Derrick Grant. And in 1988 he was promoted to coach. In 1990 his team won a Grand Slam victory in the Five Nations Championship. Furthermore, his forwards coach and partner was Jim Telfer.

Author – David Sole

David Sole OBE made his full senior Scotland debut in 1986 against France. And went on to win 44 caps at prop between 1986 and 1992. In addition, he holds a record 25 as captain. He was also the first choice loosehead prop with the victorious British Lions in Australia in 1989.
In 1990, Sole was captain for a Grand Slam decider at Murrayfield. Which Scotland won and secured the Grand Slam.

Author – Gavin Hastings

Gavin Hastings, OBE is widely regarded to be one of the best ever Scottish rugby players and was one of the outstanding players of his generation. He won 61 caps for Scotland, 20 of which as captain.
He made his debut for Scotland against France in 1986. And was a central figure in Scotland’s 1990 Five Nations Grand Slam.

Author – Ian Robertson

Ian Robertson was a Scottish broadcaster, writer, and former international rugby player. He is best known as a rugby union commentator for BBC Radio.

Robertson joined the BBC in 1972.  As a result, he regards Scotland’s 1984 and 1990 Grand Slams. Next, Jonny Wilkinson’s winning drop-kick in the final of the 2003 World Cup as his “best on-air moments”.

Robertson was also a presenter of the English Premiership video review of 1998-99. For example, in February 2018 he announced his retirement. Robertson is a prolific writer. Consequently, he has written over 30 books. And a number of biographies. Including those of Bill Beaumont, Andy Irvine, and actor Richard Burton. His memoir Rugby: Talking a Good Game was published in November 2018 by Hodder & Stoughton.

Author – Mick Cleary

Mick Cleary was the rugby union correspondent of The Telegraph and has written a host of exceptional Rugby books. For instance, these include – Wounded Pride. Carling’s Men 1995. The Carling Years 1996. And combined with Sir Ian McGeechan to write Heroes All. The Official Book of the Lions in South Africa 1997.

Cleary has been writing about rugby for 22 years. In 2019 he was named as “Rugby Union Journalist of the Season”. In 2019 and attended a ceremony at London Irish headquarters in south-west London. He came top in a nomination and adjudication process that involved the 12 clubs in the Gallagher Premiership, Premiership Rugby, and the Rugby Football Union.

Here’s the Book Preview – Scotlands Grand Slam 1990.

In this celebratory book. Former Scottish international fly-half Ian Robertson. And Observer rugby correspondent Mick Cleary look back on Scotland’s extraordinary season. From the matches against Fiji and Romania. To the Five Nations Championship and the Grand Slam decider against England at Murrayfield.

Coach Ian McGeechan planned the Scotlands Grand Slam 1990.

England went into the match as odds-on favourites. No one outside Scotland considered any other result. No one, that is, except Scottish coach Ian McGeechan. Based in Leeds, McGeechan spent hours travelling the motorways north to Scotland. Plotting the downfall of England. With the same meticulous attention to detail which saw him guide the British Lions. To victory in Australia last summer.

For example, McGeechan analysed each and every position. Indeed, he considered each and every angle of the game. And chartered each and every weakness of the England side. It worked. McGeechan was the key. And he takes us exclusively through the build-up to every Five Nations match. Firstly, his expectations. Secondly, his disappointments. Thirdly, his critical analysis of the Scottish performance. Furthermore, his hopes as the season built up to its thrilling climax.

Captain David Sole key to the Scotlands Grand Slam 1990.

It was David Sole’s first season as captain. Moreover, it could not have turned out any better. A modest, self-effacing type, 28-year-old Sole looks set to lead Scotland into the World Cup in 1991. His captaincy of the 1993 British Lions must also be a strong possibility for the loose-head prop, who is acknowledged as one of the best forwards in the world. Consequently, his reflections on the Grand Slam season show him also to be one of the shrewdest thinkers in the game.

Scotland’s finest-ever Full Back Gavin Hastings.

Gavin Hastings has so often been the match-winner for club and country. He won 61 caps for Scotland. 20 of which as captain. Additionally, six Lions appearances, almost 700 points in total. His rock-solid dependability in defence. Plus, his calm assurance in moments of pressure and his keen instinct for an opening gave the Scottish side an unshakeable foundation. Also, Gavin Hastings relives the season for us —through his eyes, we see the hopes, the frustrations and the pleasures of a historic season.

In addition, there are pen portraits of all the players. And extensively illustrated with black and white and colour photographs. Also, this is a book for all rugby followers to treasure for years to come.

Where to buy Scotland Grand Slam 1990.

This book is available from AMAZON. In addition, we offer the Scotland Rugby Shirt 1990 Grand Slam in Navy inspired by the final clinching game against England. Also, we offer the classic Scotland Rugby Shirt 1984 Grand Slam in Ecru.